CLF-CASL Gold Medal Award

The Canadian Liver Foundation was the first organization in the world committed to reducing the incidence and impact of liver disease through research and education. In keeping with our pioneering mandate, the CLF established a Gold Medal Award in 1983  to recognize doctors and scientists who have made a significant contribution to moving the field of liver research forward.

Today, the award is given jointly with the Canadian Association for the Study of the Liver (CASL). The CLF-CASL Gold Medal recipients comprise an impressive list of internationally recognized liver specialists:

2017 Dr. Anna Suk-Fong Lok

Dr. Anna Suk-Fong Lok is the Alice Lohrman Andrews Research Professor in Hepatology in the Department of Internal Medicine, University of Michigan Health System in Ann Arbor, Michigan. Dr. Lok is also the Director of Clinical Hepatology and Associate Chair for Clinical Research in the Department of Internal Medicine.

Dr. Lok obtained her medical degree from the University of Hong Kong and her hepatology training under Dame Sheila Sherlock at the Royal Free Hospital in London, UK. She was on the faculty at the University of Hong Kong until she moved to the United States in 1992. Her research focuses on the natural history and treatment of hepatitis B and C, and the prevention of liver cancer. Dr. Lok has trained more than 30 fellows and junior faculty from all over the world, some of whom have risen to the ranks of full professors and directors of liver programs in their home country.   

Past Recipients:

1983 Dr. Jean-Pierre Benhamou

1985 Dr. Rudi Schmid

1986 Dame Sheila Sherlock

1988 Dr. Carl A. Goresky

1989 Dr. Hyman J. Zimmerman

1990 Dr. B. S. Blumberg

1991 Dr. Hector Orrego

1992 Dr. Roger Williams

1993 Dr. Telfer Reynolds

1994 Dr. M. James Phillips

1995 Dr. Diane W. Cox

1996 Dr. Laurence Blendis

1997 Dr. Laurie Powell

1998 Dr. William Wall

1999 Dr. Juan Rodes

2000 Dr. Lorne Tyrrell

2001 Dr. Jay Hoofnagle

2002 Dr. Michel Huet

2003 Dr. Roger Butterworth

2004 Dr. Jenny Heathcote

2005 Dr. Ian Wanless

2006 Dr. Harvey Alter

2007 Dr. Victor Feinman

2008 Dr. Eve Roberts

2009 Dr. Jean-Paul Villeneuve

2010 Dr. Paul Adams

2011 Dr. Michael Houghton

2012 Dr. Jaime Bosch

2013 Dr. Alberta Czaja

2014 Dr. Jordi Bruix

2015 Dr. Guadalupe Garcia-Tsao

2016 Dr. Morris Sherman