Andrew Sass Kortsak Award

In 1990, the Canadian Liver Foundation, in partnership with the Canadian Association for the Study of the Liver (CASL), created the Sass-Kortsak Award to honour the late Dr. Sass-Kortsak who made tremendous contributions to the field of hepatology and did much to further the work of the Foundation. The award is presented every two years and the recipient is invited to lecture at the Canadian Digestive Diseases Week conference.

2016 Dr. Eve A. Roberts

Dr. Roberts was educated at Bryn Mawr College and at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine where she obtained her M.D. degree in 1973. Her postgraduate training included training in hepatology with Dame Sheila Sherlock at the Royal Free Hospital in London, UK, and research training relating to hepatic pathophysiology and pharmacology in Toronto at the Addiction Research Foundation, Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre and the Hospital for Sick Children Research Institute.

She joined the staff of the Hospital for Sick Children and its Research Institute in 1984, where she focused on paediatric hepatology. Her clinical research interest include a broad spectrum of paediatric liver disorders including perinatal hemochromatosis, paediatric hepatitis B and hepatitis C, primary sclerosing cholangitis, childhood non-alcoholic steatohepatitis, Wilson disease, and drug hepatotoxicity in children. Dr. Roberts was the principal clinician-researcher on the research team which identified the gene abnormal in Wilson disease. 

Past Recipients:
1990 Dr. Claude C. Roy
1992 Dr. Irmin Sternlieb
1994 Dr. Daniel Alagille
1996 Dr. Alex Mowat (posthumously)
1998 Dr. William Balistreri
2000 Dr. Frederick J. Suchy
2002 Dr. Jean-Bernard Otte
2004 Dr. Andrée Rasquin
2006 Dr. David Perlmutter
2008 Dr. Milton Finegold
2010 Dr. Peter Whitington
2012 Dr. Georgina Mieli-Vergani  
2014 Professor Mei-Hwei Chang